Southampton City Council50 Years of City Status Stay connected logo

Stay connected

Our free email alerts service will help keep you connected to the things that matter to you.

Choose from a range of topics including:
Events, leisure and culture, library offers and community news,
job alerts, road works, city news and more...

Enter your email address below to get started or to edit your account.


You are here:home > Your council > Councillors and MPs

Councillors and MPs

Southampton is a Unitary Council. This means that the council is responsible for all local services and functions within its area. Such services include social services, education, planning and highways matters amongst others. Southampton has 48 Councillors and operates under a Leader and Cabinet model of executive arrangements.

The Leader and the Cabinet oversee the work of the council and make most of the major decisions of the council.

City Councillors

Southampton has 48 Councillors and operates under a Leader and Cabinet model of executive arrangements. Please see below the Southampton City Council Ward Map 2014.

The city is divided into 16 Wards each of which have 3 Councillors
The current political composition in Southampton is:

Conservative 18
Labour 28
Councillors Against Cuts 2

Further information about individual Councillors

Please see more information on individual Councillors, political groups or wards by using the above link.

Role of Councillors

The role of a Councillor includes

• Member of the council
• Representing the ward
• Decision-making
• Policy and strategy review and development
• Overview and scrutiny - including Inquiries
• As members of regulatory panels, including Planning and Licensing
• Community leadership and engagement
• Representing the city on over 100 boards, partnerships and outside bodies

Cabinet Members

The Leader of the Council is elected every year at the annual meeting of the council. The Leader then appoints a Cabinet of between two and nine members. The Leader of the Council and Cabinet are supported by Democratic Services.

Leader of the CouncilCouncillor Simon Letts
Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Resources and LeisureCouncillor Stephen Barnes-Andrews
Cabinet Member for Education and ChangeCouncillor Dan Jeffery
Cabinet Member for Communities Councillor Kaur
Cabinet Member for Environment and TransportCouncillor Jacqui Rayment
Cabinet Member for Health and Adult Social CareCouncillor Dave Shields
Cabinet Member for Housing and SustainabilityCouncillor Warwick Payne
Cabinet Member for Children's SafeguardingCouncillor Chaloner

Downloadable documents

Icon Name of file Size Download time
PDF document Southampton City Council Ward Map 2014 395 KB 1secs @ 2Mbps
Link to download Adobe Acrobat if required

Contact information