Southampton City Council50 Years of City Status Stay connected logo

Stay connected

Our free email alerts service will help keep you connected to the things that matter to you.

Choose from a range of topics including:
Events, leisure and culture, library offers and community news,
job alerts, road works, city news and more...

Enter your email address below to get started or to edit your account.


You are here:home > Learning > Applying for a school place > Admissions policies and information > Other school admission policies

Other school admission policies

Southampton City Council, as the Local Authority (LA), maintains all community and voluntary controlled schools in the city. There is a single admissions policy for all of these schools.

Other school types have their own admissions policy which is decided by the governing body of each school.

The following schools have their own admissions policy which is different from the Local Authority:

Infant and primary schools: Banister Primary and Nursery, Foundry Lane Primary, Freemantle CE Community Academy, Harefield Primary, Highfield CE Primary, Hightown Primary, Hollybrook Infant School, Holy Family Catholic Primary, Kanes Hill Primary, Ludlow Infant, Shirley Infant, Springhill Catholic Primary, St John's Primary and Nursery, St Patrick’s Catholic Primary, Townhill Infant, Wordsworth Primary.

Junior schools: Beechwood Junior, Hollybrook Junior, Ludlow Junior, Shirley Junior.

Secondary schools: Chamberlayne College for the Arts, Oasis Academy Lord's Hill, Oasis Academy Mayfield, St Anne’s Catholic School, St George Catholic College, Upper Shirley High School.

These policies and the Supplementary Information Forms (SIF) (for schools that require them) are available below.

A list of schools and their admissions policy is also available.

Contact information