SOUTHAMPTON CITY COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 14TH MAY 2008

Present:

The Mayor, Councillor Parnell The Sheriff, Councillor Mizon Councillors Baillie, Ball, Barnes–Andrews, Baston, Beckett, Mrs Blatchford, Bogle, Burke, Capozzoli, Cooke, Cunio, Mrs Damani, Daunt, Davis, Dean, Dick, Drake, Fitzgerald, Fitzhenry, Fuller, Galton, Hannides, Holmes, Jones, Letts, Marsh-Jenks, Matthews, McEwing, Moulton, Norris, Odgers, Osmond, Payne, Rayment, Samuels, Slade, Smith, Sollitt, Stevens, Thomas, Walker, Wells, Whiskerd, White, P. Williams and Dr R. Williams.

23. HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE CITY

Councillor Parnell moved and Councillor Smith seconded:-

- (i) that in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Honorary Freedom of the City be conferred on the Commanding Officers and All Ranks of the Territorial Army in Southampton in recognition of the eminent services rendered by the Commanding Officers and the Units of the Territorial Army in Southampton not only to Her Majesty the Queen and to the country in a most efficient discharge of their duties but also to the people of Southampton in many diverse ways outside the line of formal duty the said Commanding Officers and Units of the Territorial Army in Southampton be admitted to the Honorary Freedom of the City of Southampton; and
- (ii) that suitable scrolls be commissioned for this purpose.

UPON BEING PUT TO THE VOTE THE MOTION WAS DECLARED UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED.

<u>RESOLVED</u> that the motion as submitted be adopted.