ITEM NO:12

DECISION-MAKER:		COUNCIL		
SUBJECT:		EUROPEAN ELECTION 2009		
DATE OF DECISION:		15 JULY 2009		
REPORT OF:		RETURNING OFFICER		
AUTHOR:	Name:	Mark Heath	Tel:	023 8083 2371
	E-mail:	Mark.heath@southampton.gov.uk		

RECOMMENDATION:

To note the results of the European Election 2009.

DETAIL:

1 Elections to the European Parliament were held on the 4th June 2009, and the following were returned as MEPs for the South East Electoral Region of the UK:

Seat Number	Party	Candidate		
1	Conservative Party	Daniel John Hannan		
2	United Kingdom Independence Party	Nigel Paul Farage		
3	Conservative Party	Richard James Ashworth		
4	Liberal Democrats	Sharon Margaret Bowles		
5	The Green Party	Caroline Patricia Lucas		
6	Conservative Party	Nirj Deva		
7	United Kingdom Independence Party	Marta Andreasen		
8	Conservative Party	James Edmund Moncrieff Elles		
9	The Labour Party	Peter William Skinner		
10	Liberal Democrats	Catherine Zena Bearder		

Mark Heath Local and Regional Returning Officer