Southampton Registration Services are only able to supply certificates for births, deaths, marriages or civil partnerships that took place within the Southampton City Boundary since 1 July 1837. If the event took place outside of Southampton City, you will need to apply directly to that area. For example, neighbouring areas such as Hythe, New Forest, Totton or Eastleigh fall under the control of the Hampshire Registration Service.

If you are unsure which area the birth, marriage, death or civil partnership took place, a free service such as BMD or Find My Past may be able to help you. You can also use this list to check which areas our office has records for:

We hold all Southampton Register Office marriage records since 1837 and civil partnership records since 2005. Records for ceremonies taking place in churches within the city boundaries are deposited with us, once the register is complete. If the register is still in use, you will need to apply back to the church for any duplicate certificates. Please check the lists below to see who you should apply to:

If you were adopted and require a certificate for ID purposes, you will need to apply to the General Register Office in Southport. If however you require a copy of your original birth certificate and were adopted before 12 November 1975 you will need to attend a counselling session with an approved adoption advisor first.

The priority fee for applications received that are out of area will be retained to cover administration costs.

What are the fees?

The fee includes one certificate, standard first class postage and a search fee of up to five years.

Additional copies of the same entry are £10 each.

All services are subject to the entry being traced from the information you provide when applying. If the information you supply is inaccurate or uncertain this may cause a delay in the service you require.

  • Standard Service £10 - Your certificate will be sent by first class post seven working days after your application. The option to collect your certificate is not available with this service. You may wish to consider an alternative service if you require your certificate by a definite date

  • Priority Service £23 - Your certificate will be sent by first class post the next working day. The option to collect your certificate is not available with this service. You may wish to consider an alternative service if you require your certificate by a definite date

  • Super Priority Service £40 - Your certificate will be ready to collect two hours after it has been ordered. Orders must be placed before 2:30pm Monday to Friday (excluding bank holidays) for same day collection. This service is not available online, please telephone 023 8091 5327 to make an application. Family history applications may take longer depending on the information supplied.

Online applications made after 4pm will be treated as being ordered on the next working day.

All services are subject to terms and conditions.

Order a certificate

 

Certificate processing dates

Certificate ordered by 4pm on Standard Service
Certificate posted 1st class on
Priority Service
Certificate posted 1st class on
Monday Tuesday of the following week Tuesday
Tuesday Wednesday of the following week Wednesday
Wednesday Thursday of the following week Thursday
Thursday Friday of the following week Friday
Friday A week on Monday Monday
Saturday A week on Tuesday Tuesday
Sunday A week on Tuesday Tuesday


Bank Holiday certificate processing dates

Certificate ordered Standard Service
Certificate posted 1st class on
Priority Service
Certificate posted 1st class on
Friday 14 April - Monday 17 April 2017 closed Wednesday 26 April 2017 Tuesday 18 April 2017
Tuesday 18 April 2017 Wednesday 26 April 2017 Wednesday 19 April 2017
Wednesday 19 April 2017 Thursday 27 April 2017 Thursday 20 April 2017
Thursday 20 April 2017 Friday 28 April 2017 Friday 21 April 2017
Friday 21 April 2017 Tuesday 2 May 2017 Monday 24 April 2017
Monday 24 April 2017 Wednesday 3 May 2017 Tuesday 25 April 2017
Tuesday 25 April 2017 Thursday 4 May 2017 Wednesday 26 April 2017
Wednesday 26 April 2017 Friday 5 May 2017 Thursday 27 April 2017
Thursday 27 April 2017 Monday 8 May 2017 Friday 28 April 2017
Friday 28 April 2017 Tuesday 9 May 2017 Tuesday 2 May 2017
Saturday 29 April - Monday 1 May 2017 closed Wednesday 10 May 2017 Tuesday 2 May 2017
Tuesday 2 May 2017 Wednesday 10 May 2017 Wednesday 3 May 2017
Wednesday 3 May 2017 Thursday 11 May 2017 Thursday 4 May 2017
Thursday 4 May 2017 Friday 12 May 2017 Friday 5 May 2017
Friday 5 May - Sunday 7 May 2017 Monday 15 May 2017 Monday 8 May 2017
Monday 8 May 2017 Usual service resumes Usual service resumes

Useful links