Review of Parliamentary constituencies 2018

The Boundary Commission for England launched their 2018 Review of Parliamentary constituencies on 13 September 2016. They are an independent and impartial advisory public body, which reviews the boundaries of Parliamentary constituencies in England. There are separate Commissions that review the Parliamentary constituencies in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, and local government boundaries in England.

The review is required to reduce the number of Parliamentary constituencies from 650 to 600 and ensure that everyone has equal representation. Southampton is part of the South East of England review which will reduce the number of constituencies from 83 to 81 excluding the Isle of Wight. More information on the review and how you can take part in the consultation can be found via the following links:

Boundary Commission - 2018 Review Introduction

Boundary Commission - South East of England

If you would prefer to look at hard copies of the proposals and maps for the south east of England they are available for inspection only at both of the following locations:

Proposed Southampton Test constituency - Shirley library
(WARDS; Bassett, Coxford, Freemantle, Millbrook, Portswood, Redbridge, Shirley and Swaythling)

Proposed Southampton Itchen constituency - Electoral Services at the Civic Centre
(WARDS; Bargate, Bevois, Bitterne, Bitterne Park, Harefield, Peartree, Sholing and Woolston)