Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Cabinet

The Leader chooses a Cabinet of other Councillors (called Cabinet Members) who will together make decisions on important subjects or matters affecting the City or Council as a whole.


The Cabinet Members


Each Cabinet Member has responsibility for a range of Council activities, which are called Portfolios. At present these are:


  • Leader of the Council – Councillor Letts
  • Communities, Culture and Leisure – Councillor Kaur
  • Children’s Social Care – Councillor Jordan
  • Education and Skills - Councillor Dr Paffey
  • Environment and Transport – Councillor Rayment
  • Finance – Councillor Chaloner
  • Health and Community Safety – Councillor Shields;
  • Housing and Adult Care – Councillor Payne;
  • Sustainable Living – Councillor Hammond


Detail the individual Portfolio responsibilities can be found in Part 3 of the Council's Constitution - Responsibility for Functions


The Cabinet Members can make decisions individually for their Portfolio area and so most decisions are made either by the whole Cabinet or an individual Cabinet Member.  However, these decisions must be in accordance with the Budget and the Plans in the Policy Framework, all of which have been agreed by the whole Council.


Cabinet usually meets once a month.  The meetings are open to the public, and are generally held in the Council Chamber.


Contact information

Support officer: Pat Wood. 023 8083 2302

Postal address:
Democratic Services
Civic Centre
SO14 7LY