Official results of Coxford Ward by-election announced

Matthew Renyard of the Labour Party elected

Coxford Ward in Southampton went to the polls yesterday to elect a new member of Southampton City Council.

Matthew Renyard, representing the Labour Party, was elected on the night.

The full results were as follows:

ATKINS, Susan Anne - Socialist Alternative - Putting People First - 368

CHAPMAN, Sam Philip - Liberal Democrat - 450

FLETCHER, David John - Integrity Southampton - 178

GALTON, Diana June - The Conservative Party Candidate - 529

HUMBER, Derek Lascelles - UKIP 123

MCQUILLAN, Richard Terrence - Independent - 174

RENYARD, Matthew - Labour Party Candidate - 668 ELECTED

SANDYS, Cara Anne - Green Party – 53

The new make up of Southampton City Council is as follows:

Conservatives: 19 seats (same as before)

Labour: 26 seats (+1)

Independent: 3 seats (-1)

The official declaration notice is available.

Make sure you’re registered for Southampton’s local elections this May

This was a by-election for Coxford Ward which took place following the resignation of Mr Keith Morrell.

Southampton’s full local elections will take place Thursday 2 May 2019. Make sure you are registered to take part. You can find out more about how to register and casting your vote on the Your Vote Matters website