Returning Officer for Southampton publishes Notice of Election for Coxford Ward

Due to the death of Mr Graham Galton, which led to the abandonment of the Coxford poll in the recent Southampton City Council elections, the Returning Officer has published a new Notice of Election for Coxford Ward.

It is the Returning Officer's intention to hold the poll on Thursday 22 June 2023. After the election, the three successful candidates will join 48 councillors already elected, completing the council’s make-up of 51 elected members representing 17 wards.

Voting will only take place in Coxford Ward on Thursday 22 June 2023.

Nomination papers may be obtained from the office of the Returning Officer at the Civic Centre, Southampton. Nominations close at 4pm on Thursday 25 May 2023. More information can be found on our Candidates and Agents page.

Registered electors in Coxford Ward will shortly receive poll cards with further details:

  • White poll cards will be issued to electors who have requested to vote in a polling station.
  • Yellow poll cards will be issued to electors who have requested to vote by post.

Register to vote

Eligible electors in Coxford Ward who are not already registered to vote must do so before midnight on Tuesday 6 June 2023, to take part in this election. There is more information about registering to vote and where your local polling station is online. Due to recent ward boundary changes, your polling station may have changed from previous years.

Voter ID

A government requirement for voters to show photo ID at a polling station will apply on Thursday 22 June 2023. Here is a list of accepted photo IDs. If you don’t already have an accepted form of photo ID, or your ID no longer looks like you, you can apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate. You need to do this by 5pm on Wednesday 14 June 2023.

Mark Heath, Returning Officer responsible for elections in Southampton, said:

“I would like to extend my deepest condolences to Mr Galton’s family following his sad passing. I encourage voters in Coxford Ward to make sure you have your say on Thursday 22 June 2023, and remember to take photo ID, or a Voter Authority Certificate, with you when you visit your polling station.”

Political contacts for the Coxford ward

With the current absence of ward Councillors, should you require political contact for the Coxford ward you can contact the following:

Councillor Title Email address
Councillor Satvir Kaur Leader of the Labour Group
Councillor Daniel Fitzhenry Leader of the Conservative Group
Councillor Richard Blackman Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group

Email enquiries for any community concerns can also be directed to