Benefits advice - Disability

Disability benefits are paid to severely disabled people in recognition of the extra expenses caused by disability. They are paid in addition to other benefits and may also increase entitlement to others.

There are three types of disability allowance which are available depending on your age.

Disability Living Allowance (DLA)

Disability Living Allowance can now only be claimed by children under the age of 16. Before Personal Independence Payment (PIP) was introduced in 2013 disabled adults aged under 65 could also claim DLA. Adults who still receive DLA will be reassessed for PIP at some point in the near future.

More Information on Disability Living Allowance (DLA)

Personal Independence Payment (PIP)

Personal Independence Payment has replaced DLA for adults aged 16 - 65. If you currently receive DLA you will be reassessed for PIP at some point before October 2017.

More Information on Personal Independence Payment (PIP)

Attendance Allowance (AA)

Attendance Allowance is payable to disabled people aged 65 and over.

More information on Attendance Allowance (AA)