Elections 6 May 2021

The elections were held in Southampton on Thursday 6 May 2021. It was a combined poll including the Police and Crime Commissioner elections for Hampshire and local city Councillor elections across Southampton.

Election results

In a change to previous years due to COVID-19 restrictions, the count did not take place over night on Thursday 6 May.

Here is where you can see the Local Election Final Results which were announced on Saturday 8 May, once all declarations were made.

You can also view the Police and Crime Commissioner Election results which were announced on Monday 10 May.

Police and Crime Commissioner Elections

Police and Crime Commissioners were introduced in 2012. One Commissioner is elected for each Police Area using the supplementary voting system and they are elected for a term of four years. The last elections were held on 5 May 2016. The poll is conducted by Local Returning Officers in each local authority area and then their results are collated across the whole police area by the Police Area Returning Officer who declares the overall result and who was elected to be the new Commissioner. Southampton is part of the Hampshire Police area

More information about:

Southampton City Council local elections

The City of Southampton has a Council of 48 Members or Councillors who make decisions on matters affecting the city. The city is divided into 16 wards and each ward is represented by 3 Councillors who are appointed for a term of 4 years.

This year one third of the seats were up for election in each of the 16 wards across the city. Every year for 3 consecutive years, one Councillor in each ward will have completed their term of office and their seat will become vacant. The subsequently elected Councillor will then be in post for a further 4 years. In the fourth year there is no election. This is known as electing by thirds.

To see which candidates are standing in your ward, please see the Statement of Persons Nominated.