Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework is the standards that school and childcare providers must meet for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5.

The framework:

  • Sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well
  • Ensures children are kept healthy and safe
  • Ensures that children have the knowledge and skills they need to start school

Section 1 – The learning and development requirements

The EYFS consists of seven areas of learning and development. Each has a number of 'Early Learning Goals' which most children are expected to achieve by the end of the reception year in school, and broad stages of development which help show children's progress towards the goals.

Three areas are particularly important, these are the three prime areas:

Providers much also support children in four specific areas, which strengthen the three prime areas. The specific areas are:

The seven areas are used to plan learning and activities.

Section 2 – Assessment

Assessment plays an important part in helping parents, carers and practitioners to recognise children’s progress, understand their needs, and to plan activities and support.

View assessment information.

Section 3 – The safeguarding and welfare requirements

Children learn best when they are healthy, safe and secure. Providers must take all necessary steps to keep children safe and well.

View safeguarding and welfare information.