Healthy and Sustainable Schools calendar

See the healthy and sustainable schools calendar of events below. The events fall under four categories:

  • Healthy Eating
  • Physically Active
  • Relationships and Sex Education (RSHE)
  • Sustainable Schools
  • Mental health and wellbeing
Event/venue Date Time Category Notes
National Careers Week Monday 4-Friday 9 March - RSHE Welcome - National Careers Week
County Final: Year 5,6,7,8 and 9 Cross Country Down Grange, Basingstoke Tuesday 5 March - Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
International Women's Day Friday 8 March - RSHE/Mental health and well being

Learn without fear: girls' rights school pack: Mentally Healthy Schools

Outside the Box: Promoting gender equality and tackling sexual harassment in schools: Mentally Healthy Schools

Primary - Lower School Cross Country Championships, Outdoor Sports Centre Friday 8 March 4-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
British Science Week 8-17 March 2024 - Sustainable schools, healthy eating and physically active -
Year 5/6 Netball Tournament TBB Bitterne Park Courts Monday 11 March 2-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Young Carers Action Day Wednesday 13 March - RSHE/Mental health and well being Young Carers Action Day 2024: Resources - Carers Trust
Year 3/4 Tag Rugby Tournival, St Marks 3G Thursday 14 March 2-4.30pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
World Sleep Day Friday 15 March - RSHE/Mental health and well being Mental wellbeing audio guides - NHS
Red Nose Day Friday 15 March - RSHE/Mental health and well being -
Upper School Cross Country Championships, Outdoor Sports Centre Friday 15 March 4-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Neurodiversity Celebration Week 18-24 March - - Red Nose Day - Comic Relief
Year 5/6 Tag Rugby Tournival, St Marks 3G Thursday 21 March 2-4.30pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
March Hare Relay, Outdoor Sports Centre Friday 22 March 4-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
County Final: Year 5 and 6 Netball, Outdoor Sports Centre, Southampton Monday 25 March - Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 1 and 2 Racket Skills Festival, TBB St George Hall Monday 25 March 1-3pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
County Final: Year 5/6 and 7/8 Girls Football Stoneham Complex, Southampton Week beginning 11 March or 18 March - Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
County Final: U12 Netball, Sports Centre Wednesday 27 March 10am-4pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 5/6 Handball Tournival, St Marks Astro Thursday 28 March 3.30-5.30pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
County Final: Year 5 and 6 Sportshall Athletics, Garrison Sports Centre, Aldershot Tuesday 16 April - Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 3/4 Quicksticks Tournament, Sports Centre Tuesday 23 April 3.30-5.30pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 9/10 Girls Rounders League, Various Tuesday 23 and 30 April, Tuesday 7 and 14 May. Reserve: Tuesday 21 May 4-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 7/8 Girls Softball Cricket League, Various Thursday 25 April, Thursday 2 and 9 May. Reserve: Thursday 16 May. 4-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 1/2 Cricket Festival, Calmore Sports Tuesday 7 May 1-3pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Secondary school swimming gala TBB, The Quays Wednesday 8 May 1.30-3.30pm Physicaly active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 3/4 Ultimate Frisbee TBB, Bitterne Park 3G Friday 10 May 3.30-5.30pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Mental Health Awareness Week 13-20 May 2024 - RSHE/Mental health and well being -
Year 3/4 Tri-Golf Tournival TBB, Soton Golf Club Wednesday 15 May 1.30-4pm - -
Year 5/6 Girls Cricket Tournament, Calmore Sports Tuesday 21 May 10am-4.30pm - -
Outdoor Classroom Day - - - Get children outdoors to play and learn, on Outdoor Classroom Day and all year round
Year 5/6 Mixed Cricket Tournament, Calmore Sports Thursday 6 June 10am-4.30pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Primary Track and Field Championship Track, Sports Centre Tuesday 11 June 10am-4pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Great Big Green Week  8-16 June 2024 - Sustainable schools Get involved - Great Big Green Week
Year 7/8 Girls Rounders League, Various Tuesday 11, 18 and 25 June, Tuesday 2 July. Reserve: Tuesday 9 July 4-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 7 and 8 Mixed Ultimate Frisbee Tournament TBB, Bitterne Park School Wednesday 12 June 3-5.30pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 7/8 Boys/Mixed Softball Cricket League, Various Thursday 13, 20 and 27 June. Reserve: Thursday 4 July 4-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 5/6 Ultimate Frisbee Tournament TBB Bitterne Park 3G Friday 14 June 2-4.30pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
National School Sports Week Monday 17 June to Friday 21 June (TBC) - - -
Year 3/4 Tennis Tournament TBB, David Lloyd Tuesday 18 June 12.30-4pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Secondary Track and Field Championship, Sports Centre Wednesday 19 June 10am-4pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Invitation Only: Hampshire School Games Day, Winchester Sports Leisure Centre Thursday 20 June - Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
County Final: Year 3 and 4 Tennis W/C 1 July or 8 July - Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Primary Swimming Gala TBB, The Quays Friday 5 July 1-3pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
County Final: QuadKids (Taken from Primary Track and Field Championship), Winchester Athletics Track W/C 8 July - Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Year 6 Rounders Tournament TBB, Woodlands Tuesday 9 July 2-5pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only
Dance Festival TBB, St Marks Thursday 11 July 3.30-6pm Physically active Entry is through School Games Organisers only

Contact information

If you have any questions, or to find out more, email Healthy and Sustainable Schools.